National Book Critics Circle Awards

nbcc_logo_sq_bigger The winners of the National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) Awards for publishing year 2012 were announced in Boston on  February 28.  They include:

Ben Fountain, Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (Ecco)

Andrew Solomon, Far From the Tree: Parents, Children, and the Search for Identity (Scribner)

Leanne Shapton, Swimming Studies (Blue Rider Press)

Robert A. Caro, The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson, vol. 4 (Alfred A. Knopf)

D. A. Powell, Useless Landscape, or A Guide for Boys (Graywolf Press)

Marina Warner, Stranger Magic: Charmed States and the Arabian Nights (Belknap Press: Harvard University Press)

If you’re looking for something good to read, check out this list of all past winners and finalists.

The National Book Critics Circle was founded in 1974 and honors outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature. It encourages and raises the quality of book criticism in all media and creates a way for critics to communicate with one another about their professional concerns.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: