National Book Award Finalists Announced


2013 National Book Award Finalists Announced!

A few facts

  • The National Book Award was established in 1950 and is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit  organization.
  • The night before the Awards, each finalist receives a prize of $1,000, a medal, and a citation at a private medal ceremony.
  • No one, not even the Foundation staff, learns who the winners are until the day of the National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Dinner.  This year’s ceremony will be held on November 20 at Cipriani in New York City.
  • Each winner receives $10,000 and a bronze sculpture.
  • Last year’s winner in the fiction category was North Dakota’s own Louise Erdrich for The Round House.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: