Posts Tagged ‘National Book Award’

2016 National Book Award Winners

And the Winners Are ….



2016 National Book Award Finalists

The National Book Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2016 National Book Awards for Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. The winners will be announced on November 16 at the National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Dinner.


eBook of the Week: A Hologram for the King

HologramNow that you’ve read The Circle, the 2015-16 Campus Read selection, here’s another Dave Eggers book to check out.

A Hologram for the King was a finalist for the 2012 National Book Award (the winner was The Round House by North Dakota author Louise Erdrich) and was also named one of the New York Times Book Review’s 10 Best Books of the Year.

    “In a rising Saudi Arabian city, far from weary, recession-scarred America, a struggling businessman named Alan Clay pursues a last-ditch attempt to stave off foreclosure, pay his daughter’s college tuition, and finally do something great. In A Hologram for the King, Dave Eggers takes us around the world to show how one man fights to hold himself and his splintering family together.” — Publisher description

Check it out!  Beyond Library Wall Digital Collection (under eBooks & eAudiobooks)

National Book Award Winners

The 2015 National Book Award winners were announced at a gala event in New York City on November 18.  Add these books to your reading list!


  • Fiction: Adam Johnson, Fortune Smiles: Stories
  • Non-fiction: Ta-Nehisi Coates, Between the World and Me (Available at BSC Library)
  • Poetry: Robin Coste Lewis, Voyage of the Sable Venus
  • Young People’s Literature: Neal Shusterman, Challenger Deep

National Book Award 2015

The finalists for the 2015 National Book Award have been announced in these categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature.  The winners will be announced on November 18, 2015, at Cipriani Club 55 on Wall Street in New York City.

National Book AwardsNational BookAwards2NationalBookAwards3NationalBookAwards4

National Book Award Winners

National Book Award winnerLast night in New York City, the 2013 National Book Awards were presented to:

Fiction – James McBride – The Good Lord Bird

Nonfiction – George Packer – The Unwinding: an Inner History of the New America

Poetry – Mary Szybist – Incarnadine: Poems

Young People’s Literature – Cynthia Kadohata – The Thing about Luck

National Book Award Finalists Announced


2013 National Book Award Finalists Announced!

A few facts

  • The National Book Award was established in 1950 and is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit  organization.
  • The night before the Awards, each finalist receives a prize of $1,000, a medal, and a citation at a private medal ceremony.
  • No one, not even the Foundation staff, learns who the winners are until the day of the National Book Awards Ceremony and Benefit Dinner.  This year’s ceremony will be held on November 20 at Cipriani in New York City.
  • Each winner receives $10,000 and a bronze sculpture.
  • Last year’s winner in the fiction category was North Dakota’s own Louise Erdrich for The Round House.